Android Technology rant about Westworld (and BSG)

Discussions about movies, the latest and greatest DVD's, Music & Anime
FlyingPenguin
Flightless Bird

Android Technology rant about Westworld (and BSG)

Post by FlyingPenguin »

Just a random rant. Don't get me wrong, I love Westworld. I also loved the Battlestar Galactica reboot. BUT as an engineer I go bonkers watching these show, unless I turn off the analytical part of my mind.

One tenet of both shows is that the androids are indistinguishable from humans, and thus leads to many plots involving androids pretending to be human.

BSG has the most human of androids. In BSG, apparently the only way to detect a Cylon is to use some complicated device that requires parts of a nuclear bomb. N'kay. You would think that there would be lots of ways to detect a Cylon. Let's see. They can plug a fiber optic cable into a vein and communicate with computers, so one would think that the proteins comprising blood or vein walls is not human based, and thus would react strangely to human antibodies. One or both of them apparently have light emitters and photo sensors as part of their cellular structure.

They have a radio somewhere in them (biological in nature I assume, but with fantastic range of tens thousands of kilometers or more, at a hell of a bit rate) that allows them to back themselves up when they die (but strangely doesn't allow them to communicate with each other). You'd think that would be an unnatural structure in their body. There's probably some others, but hey I'm okay with that since the Cylons were specifically designed to fool humans.