MoCA: Ethernet over coax

Networking and broadband talkabout. Need help with that new router or setting up a network?
Post Reply
User avatar
FlyingPenguin
Flightless Bird
Posts: 32813
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2000 11:13 am
Location: Central Florida
Contact:

MoCA: Ethernet over coax

Post by FlyingPenguin »

Was just reading about this in this article: https://www.theverge.com/23715458/ether ... ng-how-toI know Comcast boxes use MoCA to talk to each other to stream recordings from one box to the other. I didn't know they made networking adapters.

Might be useful for an extra network port I need in my office. I have a spare coax cable in there that goes straight to my router closet. The 1Gbit boxes sell for $100 for a pair. Cheaper than having a cable installer pull a CAT6 line through the attic.
I've gotta say, a Bible signed by the actual anti-Christ, would be a hell of a collector's item.

Image
User avatar
Losbot
Life Member
Posts: 5009
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2014 8:59 am
Location: South Florida

Re: MoCA: Ethernet over coax

Post by Losbot »

Good to know. I've got powerline adapters that have been rock solid for me so far and I push a lot through them.
------------------------------------------

Image
User avatar
FlyingPenguin
Flightless Bird
Posts: 32813
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2000 11:13 am
Location: Central Florida
Contact:

Re: MoCA: Ethernet over coax

Post by FlyingPenguin »

I've had mixed success with powerline adapters. A lot depends on your wiring, and whether the two devices share the same power bus. When it works, it works well.
I've gotta say, a Bible signed by the actual anti-Christ, would be a hell of a collector's item.

Image
Post Reply