Hardship: Shipbreaker

Talk about your favorite games and any new or upcoming ones. Share cool tips & tricks
FlyingPenguin
Flightless Bird

Hardship: Shipbreaker

Post by FlyingPenguin »

Hardship: Shipbreaker is my new Zen, time sink game (in the same way Minecraft, Mudrunner, Astroneer were).

Sit down with the intent of playing for an hour, and the next thing you know, 8 hours have gone by. I'm still a noob and working on easy ships, but it's still a gas. Looking forward to more complex challenges later.

While there's a timeclock with bonuses for early completion, don't let that bother you. You can ignore the clock. You can always come back next shift and pick up where you left off, or just ask for a new ship next shift if you get tired of working on that one. It's very relaxing to just figure out how to cut up the ship, without blowing up the reactor, or fuel tanks, or other volatiles, finding goodies you can keep.

You can be lazy and cut up big chunks with mixed materials, but then you only get credits for the material that the recycler wants (if you throw a panel with aluminum and carbon fiber in the furnace, then you only get credit for the aluminum). Salvaging equipment like the engine and fuel tanks for used parts pays you more than just tossing them in the furnace as scrap metal. You can be as nitpicky as you want. You want to maximize your income, rip the lighting strips and control panels off for used parts before throwing the hull plates into the furnace.

Then there's the problem of touching off a fuel tank with a careless cut, or failing to depressurize a compartment, or any number of hazards.

Early access, but the game is very stable at this point after a year. Very positive reviews on Steam.

"Turns out I’m 'woke.' All along, I thought I was just compassionate, kind, and good at history. "

FlyingPenguin
Flightless Bird

Re: Hardship: Shipbreaker

Post by FlyingPenguin »

Review: https://www.rockpapershotgun.com/2020/0 ... ly-access/