Cpu sockets? Is AM3 and AM2 the same?

Discussions and help regarding overclocking, motherboards, peripherals, AMD and INTEL CPU's
canton_kid
Golden Member
Posts: 1400
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2002 5:01 pm
Contact:

Cpu sockets? Is AM3 and AM2 the same?

Postby canton_kid » Sun Mar 27, 2011 3:34 pm

Thinking about upgrading to a 4 core cpu and was looking at prices.
Everything seems to say AM3 now, my system board says ,

Supported CPU,
AM2+/AM2,
Phenom FX / Phenom / Athlon 64 FX / Athlon 64 X2,
2600MHz Hyper Transport (5200 MT/s)

It's a GIGABYTE GA-MA78GM-US2H
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128379

Is there a low cost 4X Cpu for this board still?

I did see some system boards that show AM3/AM2 so I wonder if AM3 works in a AM2 like mine?

Not sure if I will upgrade CPU, thinking about it.
Would like a totally new system for many newer upgrade features, but can't afford board, ram, and cpu all at once.
Canton_kid

spam bot food!
<A HREF="http://www.auditmypc.com/freescan/antispam.html">Anti-Spam</A>

User avatar
Err
Almighty Member
Posts: 4888
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 11:54 am

Postby Err » Sun Mar 27, 2011 3:47 pm

Here you go: http://www.buy.com/prod/amd-phenom-9850-black-edition-2-5ghz-4x512kb-l2-cache-2mb-l3-cache-am2/q/sellerid/27831388/loc/111/218192876.html

AMD Phenom 9850 BLACK EDITION 2.5GHz 4x512KB L2 Cache 2MB L3 Cache AM2+ 125W Quad-Core Proc With FAN - A_AMD_9850_GH_BULK+SMALLHS $90.00 less shipping

It looks like your board supports is too: http://www.gigabyte.com/support-downloads/cpu-support-popup.aspx?pid=2995

According to the CPU compatibility list, your board supports AM3 with a Bios Revision.

User avatar
normalicy
Posts: 9122
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2000 4:04 am
Location: St. Louis, MO USA
Contact:

Postby normalicy » Sun Mar 27, 2011 5:28 pm

AM2+ is basically AM3 with DDR2 RAM. So long as they keep up with the BIOS updates, you're board will be fine for most AM3 processors.

canton_kid
Golden Member
Posts: 1400
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2002 5:01 pm
Contact:

Postby canton_kid » Sun Mar 27, 2011 5:30 pm

Thanks!

So if I update the Bios I can use AM3? I am totally lost on CPUs these days!
I wondered about it, but the specs didn't list it. Probably because AM3 might not have been out when I bought the board or specs wrote.

What is the difference in AM2 and AM3?
I still need to stay close around the $100 mark or a little more, but I want a fast 4 core for doing 3d art renders and some animations.
If I get into the L2 Cache: 4 x 512KB and L3 Cache: 6MB is that going to make a big difference also?

I was thinking about of these maybe?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Submit=ENE&N=100007671%2050001028%20600030236&IsNodeId=1&name=Quad-Core
AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition Deneb 3.2GHz Socket AM3 125W Quad-Core Processor HDZ955FBGMBOX
* 4000MHz
* 45 nm Deneb
* 6MB L3 Cache

* Series: Phenom II X4
* L2 Cache: 4 x 512KB
* L3 Cache: 6MB
* Manufacturing Tech: 45 nm
* Model #: HDZ955FBGMBOX
$139


or
AMD Phenom II X4 840 3.2GHz Socket AM3 95W Quad-Core Desktop Processor HDX840WFGMBOX
* 45 nm
* 4 x 512KB L2 Cache
* Series: Phenom II X4
* L2 Cache: 4 x 512KB
* Manufacturing Tech: 45 nm
* 64 bit Support: Yes
* Model #: HDX840WFGMBOX
$109


For $30 difference is the L3 Cache: 6MB and extra 30watts worth it. I expect the watts would be lower when not under heavy load right and 125watts is just at full load like when I would be rendering?
I don't know what other benefits would be with the more expensive one?

That chart shows both should work with my board with up dated bios. Now, how would I update the bios LOL
Will be my first time I ever updated a bios for a board I think. Have to go find a manual LOL

I never bought at Buy.com yet, are they pretty reliable like Newegg has always been? I've not been buying much or shopping much, is Newegg still one of the best places to buy most computer stuff or is anyone doing even better now?
Canton_kid



spam bot food!

<A HREF="http://www.auditmypc.com/freescan/antispam.html">Anti-Spam</A>

User avatar
normalicy
Posts: 9122
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2000 4:04 am
Location: St. Louis, MO USA
Contact:

Postby normalicy » Sun Mar 27, 2011 5:53 pm

You should be able to use some AM3 processors already depending on your BIOS version. However, I'd upgrade with whatever you have in now to save from having to find out the hard way (and have to reinstall your current processor).

Buy.com is a good company for the most part. I've bought from them many times before. Not as good as Newegg IMO, but they at least are honest.

The processor recommended by Err comes with a heat sink & fan, so unless you're overclocking, you really don't need to get any fancy heat sink.


Return to “Overclocking / CPU's / Motherboards / Sound Cards”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest