Microsoft Security Essentials now available

Discussions of applications and operating systems and any problems, tips or suggestions. Win XP, 9x/2k, Linux, NT, photo editing, Virus/Spyware help
User avatar
FlyingPenguin
Flightless Bird
Posts: 31112
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2000 11:13 am
Location: Central Florida
Contact:

Microsoft Security Essentials now available

Postby FlyingPenguin » Thu Oct 01, 2009 7:07 am

This is Microsoft's new free anti-virus software which was highly rated when the beta was tested.

I'm going to install this on an old PC I have here with 512Mb of RAM and give it a try. By all reports it's very lean and light on resources. I've heard nothing but good things about the beta.

Now if only they can keep from screwing it up later like they did with Defender...

http://www.microsoft.com/security_essentials/support.aspx?mkt=en-us
- "Well, opinions are like assholes. Everybody has one." - "Dirty" Harry Callahan

Image

User avatar
FlyingPenguin
Flightless Bird
Posts: 31112
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2000 11:13 am
Location: Central Florida
Contact:

Postby FlyingPenguin » Thu Oct 01, 2009 7:36 am

Well so far I'm impressed. Very fast install, small installer (4Mb). On fresh install of WinXP on a 512 Mb system, Windows went from 180Mb of RAM in use to 205Mb after installing it which is a hell of a lot less footprint than AVG or even AntiVir.

Very clean and simple (ie: not confusing) control panel.

My only complaint is that you have to download the correct version. There are 3 separate versions for XP x86, Vista & Win7 x86, and Vista & Win7 x64 (I guess those of us using XPx64 are screwed - funny Microsoft not supporting one of their own current OSes).

While this keeps the installer small, the problem is that the average non-techie has absolutely no clue what version of Windows they are running, much less what flavor. They really need to have an all-in-one installer.
- "Well, opinions are like assholes. Everybody has one." - "Dirty" Harry Callahan

Image

User avatar
darcy
Posts: 6190
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 9:33 pm
Location: NYC

Postby darcy » Thu Oct 01, 2009 12:17 pm

FP, ~ pls revisit this in a week or 2, and if u are still impressed w/it, pls post, as i would not mind switching from AVG to this, but as noted, ~ i know what OS i am running, but not which "flavor".
{ thank you }
Briquette, 1992 - 2008 ~ < Forever In Our Hearts >

Lily, 1995 - 2009 ~ < Forever In Our Hearts >

The best and most beautiful things in the world cannot be seen or even touched.
They must be felt with the heart. ~ Helen Keller.

User avatar
Justlookin
Posts: 643
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2007 12:50 pm
Location: Wasilla, AK
Contact:

Postby Justlookin » Thu Oct 01, 2009 3:45 pm

darcy wrote:FP, ~ pls revisit this in a week or 2, and if u are still impressed w/it, pls post, as i would not mind switching from AVG to this, but as noted, ~ i know what OS i am running, but not which "flavor".
{ thank you }


Yes FP, let us know. I might want to try it too! Thanks for your research on this so far.

User avatar
wvjohn
Posts: 9238
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2000 7:09 am
Contact:

Postby wvjohn » Thu Oct 01, 2009 5:14 pm

I read a couple of reviews which were good. At least it doesn't want to install Yahoo toolbar ;)
<a href="http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=123" target="_blank" >Heatware</a>

User avatar
normalicy
Posts: 9472
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2000 4:04 am
Location: St. Louis, MO USA
Contact:

Postby normalicy » Thu Oct 01, 2009 5:20 pm

Wow, took long enough. Yeah, let us know.

User avatar
Err
Life Member
Posts: 5656
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 11:54 am

Postby Err » Thu Oct 01, 2009 7:07 pm

wvjohn wrote:I read a couple of reviews which were good. At least it doesn't want to install Yahoo toolbar ;)


I'm surprised it doesn't install a Bing toolbar.

User avatar
eGoCeNTRoNiX
Posts: 7361
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 12:51 pm
Location: HELL

Postby eGoCeNTRoNiX » Thu Oct 01, 2009 10:36 pm

FlyingPenguin wrote:Now if only they can keep from screwing it up later like they did with Defender...


I was thinking the same thing. I will give it a shot on the 4 PCs I'm going to wipe out tonight and we'll see what happens.

eGo
PM before Email People!!
Image
Heat Under eGoCeNTRoNiX :)
Who Farted? BEANIE!!!
!Welcome to the United States of the Offended!

User avatar
d_b
Posts: 2617
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2000 6:16 am
Location: Culver Indiana

Postby d_b » Sat Oct 03, 2009 8:40 am

I would love to try this on my besktop but I keep getting an error code during installation. Works good on my lap top. I've tried every thing suggested on MS site...nothing works. Oh well, back to Avats for the time being.
I'm not lazy by nature, I work very hard at being lazy.

User avatar
nitro237
Posts: 3205
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2000 7:14 pm
Location: Louisiana

Postby nitro237 » Sat Oct 03, 2009 1:58 pm

I had a really bad infested computer that wouldn't even install Malwarebytes and installed this just fine. It cleaned several items and then I was allowed to install Malwarebytes to finish the job.

But note, after I installed it, it would not allow me to scan the computer until I updated the app. Luckily I was able to get online and update. If it had been infected and not able to go online, this app would have been 100% useless.
Image


Image

User avatar
FlyingPenguin
Flightless Bird
Posts: 31112
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2000 11:13 am
Location: Central Florida
Contact:

Postby FlyingPenguin » Sat Oct 03, 2009 4:35 pm

That's not too bad because NO anti-virus is actually degigned to clean an already infected system. That's when you turn to Malwarebytes or Trojan Remover.

When a running trojan won't allow Malwarebytes to run, usually Trojan Remover will fix that.
- "Well, opinions are like assholes. Everybody has one." - "Dirty" Harry Callahan

Image

User avatar
FlyingPenguin
Flightless Bird
Posts: 31112
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2000 11:13 am
Location: Central Florida
Contact:

Postby FlyingPenguin » Mon Oct 05, 2009 12:09 pm

BTW, if you go to the website using Internet Explorer, the web page detects the version you need. I was using Firefox so I got asked what version I wanted.

I still think they should use an all-in-one installer like everyone else.
- "Well, opinions are like assholes. Everybody has one." - "Dirty" Harry Callahan

Image

User avatar
darcy
Posts: 6190
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 9:33 pm
Location: NYC

Postby darcy » Mon Oct 05, 2009 1:59 pm

thank u for the info, FP : )
Briquette, 1992 - 2008 ~ < Forever In Our Hearts >



Lily, 1995 - 2009 ~ < Forever In Our Hearts >



The best and most beautiful things in the world cannot be seen or even touched.
They must be felt with the heart. ~ Helen Keller.

User avatar
FlyingPenguin
Flightless Bird
Posts: 31112
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2000 11:13 am
Location: Central Florida
Contact:

Postby FlyingPenguin » Fri Oct 16, 2009 9:43 pm

Good review here: http://www.thetechherald.com/article.php/200926/3926/Review-Microsoft-Security-Essentials

I'm very impressed. I just cleaned out a client's PC that was infected with "TrustSoldier" a fake security program that's actually a trojan. Nasty crap. I saved the app's executable and what appears to be the boot strap installer that was in the temp folder (this is an installer file hidden in the temp folder that re-installs the trojan if you remove it).

I renamed both those malicious EXE files to .EXE.VIRUS and placed them in a zip file. I then copied the zip file to the desktop of a PC that has Microsoft Security Essentials (MSSE) installed. Then I tried to open the zip file and MSSE immediately detected a threat.

Now the REAL curious thing is I have Symantec Corporate 10.5 installed on my workbench PC, and it DID NOT detect any malicious files in this zip file. Moreover when I extracted the files and renamed them back to .EXE and forced Symantec to do a scan of the files, it still found nothing wrong with them.

VERY interesting. I'll need to see if AVG and AntiVir detects this crap.
- "Well, opinions are like assholes. Everybody has one." - "Dirty" Harry Callahan

Image

User avatar
Executioner
Life Member
Posts: 9453
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2000 11:34 am
Location: Woodland, CA USA

Postby Executioner » Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:24 pm

Another reason I don't use symantec.

When downloading, its a SETUP.EXE file? I not really need it for my rig since I have NOD32, Trojan Hunter, and SuperAntiSpyware running, but I would like the install file for other people's rig that I work on.


Return to “OS / Software Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests